All Books S1 E1: The Achilles Trap

Introduction of the book: The Achilles Trap, Saddam Hussein, the C.I.A., and the Origins of America’s Invasion of Iraq By Steve Coll

#SteveColl #AchillesTrap #SaddamHussein #InvasionofIraq #CIA #AllBooks #BooksIntroduction #BestSellingBooks #BestSellerBook #Easytoreadbooks

From bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author Steve Coll, the definitive story of the decades-long relationship between the United States and Saddam Hussein, and a deeply researched and news-breaking investigation into how human error, cultural miscommunication, and hubris led to one of the costliest geopolitical conflicts of our time

When the United States invaded Iraq in 2003, its message was clear: Iraq, under the control of strongman Saddam Hussein, possessed weapons of mass destruction that, if left unchecked, posed grave danger to the world. But when no WMDs were found, the United States and its allies were forced to examine the political and intelligence failures that had led to the invasion and the occupation, and the civil war that followed. One integral question has remained unsolved: Why had Saddam seemingly sacrificed his long reign in power by giving the false impression that he had hidden stocks of dangerous weapons?

The Achilles Trap masterfully untangles the people, ploys of power, and geopolitics that led to America’s disastrous war with Iraq and, for the first time, details America’s fundamental miscalculations during its decades-long relationship with Saddam Hussein. Beginning with Saddam’s rise to power in 1979 and the birth of Iraq’s secret nuclear weapons program, Steve Coll traces Saddam’s motives by way of his inner circle. He brings to life the diplomats, scientists, family members, and generals who had no choice but to defer to their leader—a leader directly responsible for the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Iraqis, as well as the torture or imprisonment of hundreds of thousands more. This was a man whose reasoning was impossible to reduce to a simple explanation, and the CIA and successive presidential administrations failed to grasp critical nuances of his paranoia, resentments, and inconsistencies—even when the stakes were incredibly high.

Calling on unpublished and underreported sources, interviews with surviving participants, and Saddam’s own transcripts and audio files, Coll pulls together an incredibly comprehensive portrait of a man who was convinced the world was out to get him and acted accordingly. A work of great historical significance, The Achilles Trap is the definitive account of how corruptions of power, lies of diplomacy, and vanity—on both sides—led to avoidable errors of statecraft, ones that would enact immeasurable human suffering and forever change the political landscape as we know it.

Hosted by Alex Boulton, available at:
Web: https://abooks.io

The book The Achilles Trap, Saddam Hussein, the C.I.A., and the Origins of America’s Invasion of Iraq By Steve Coll is available here:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/49SbTj2
iTunes Book: https://apple.co/42SKDP7
iTunes Audiobook: https://apple.co/42SKDP7
Google eBooks: https://bit.ly/42YPKNt
eBay: https://ebay.us/YgnVyX
Abebooks: https://bit.ly/3TgxjAH

Show your Love:
VENMO: https://www.venmo.com/u/aussietrading
CashApp: https://cash.app/$guaripete
Paypal: https://paypal.me/vickytoys

All Books Podcast is available on:

AMAZON:
SPOTIFY:
ITUNES:
POCKETCAST:
IHEART:
DEEZER:
TUNEIN:
PANDORA:

All Books is Sponsored by:

Vicky Toys Sex Shop: vickytoys.com
Gorila Travel Agency: gorilatravel.com
Coffee Secrets: bizkaffee.com
Guaripete Pro: https://amzn.to/3OWN6Bz
Fortune Cookie Coaching: fortunecookie.coach
Noticias de Nueva Esparta: noticiasdenuevaesparta.com
Ubuntu Cafe: ubuntu.cafe
Juan Rodulfo Music: juanrodulfo.com/music
Juan Rodulfo Photo: juanrodulfo.com/gallery
Barista Pro Shop: baristapro.shop
All Books Podcast: abooks.io
Funny Live Videos: funnyvideos.cam
Coupon Mania: shopcouponsmarket.com

All Books is Produced by:

Juan Rodulfo: juanrodulfo.com
Guaripete Solutions: rodulfox.com
Aussie Trading: aussietrading.ltd
Música & Video: Juan Rodulfo

All Books, Books Introduction, Best Selling Books, Best Seller Book, Easy to read books, Steve Coll, Achilles Trap, Saddam Hussein, Invasion of Iraq, CIA,

One Reply to “All Books S1 E1: The Achilles Trap”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *